Marc Márquez returns to pole three years later

Canet will start first in Moto2 and García Dols, third in Moto3

MADRID, Sep. 24 (.) –

The Spanish rider Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda) has conquered pole position, 1,071 days after the last time, for the MotoGP race of the Japanese Grand Prix, sixteenth round of the Motorcycle World Championship, on a day in which Arón Canet (Kalex) guaranteed himself the first starting position in Moto2 and in which the Japanese Tatsuki Suzuki (Honda) did the same in Moto3.

Three years later and on the same stage as the last time, Motegi, the eighth world champion, won pole position again in a wet Q2, where he beat Frenchman Johann Zarco (Ducati) -who had to go through Q1 – and South African Brad Binder (KTM), who will accompany him on the front row of the grid.

His 1:55.214 in the wet, two tenths better than the Frenchman’s time, earned the man from Cervera to win his 91st World Cup pole position, number 63 in the premier class, all in a day with numerous delays and the cancellation of the third Free practice due to rain.

Meanwhile, among the favorites for the title, Aleix Espargaró (Aprilia) -third, 17 points off the lead- will start with an advantage starting from sixth place on the grid, well ahead of the leader, Frenchman Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha), who will start nineth; and second overall, the Italian Francesco ‘Pecco’ Bagnaia (Ducati), twelfth.

Among the Spaniards, Maverick Viñales will start fourth, ahead of Jorge Martín (Ducati) and Aleix himself, and Pol Espargaró (Repsol Honda) will do so eleventh. Among those who stayed in Q1, Alex Márquez (Honda) will start seventeenth, Alex Rins (Suzuki) eighteenth and Raúl Fernández (KTM), twenty-second.


In Moto2, the Spanish Arón Canet (Kalex) was the fastest in an eternal Q2 marked by rain. With only four minutes of the session played, the action had to stop and did not resume until more than an hour later; It was then that Corbera’s man set a time of 2:04.939 that gave him pole position.

Next to him will start in the front row his compatriot Fermín Aldeguer (Boscoscuro), who had had the last lap canceled but who, hours later, returned to second place on the grid, and the British Jake Dixon (Kalex).

The leader of the general, Augusto Fernández (Kalex), will have to climb positions from eleventh but with the peace of mind that his main rival for the title, the Japanese Ai Ogura (Kalex), will start even further behind, thirteenth.

In addition, Jorge Navarro (Kalex) will start the event in seventh position, Alonso López (Boscoscuro) will start twelfth, Albert Arenas (Kalex) seventeenth, Pedro Acosta (Kalex) eighteenth, Marcos Ramírez (MV Augusta) twenty-seventh, Jeremy Alcoba (Kalex) twenty-ninth and Manu González (Kalex), thirty and last.


Finally, the Japanese Tatsuki Suzuki (Honda) won pole position in Moto3 against the British Scott Ogden (Honda), unprecedented in the front row, and the Spanish Sergio García Dols (GasGas), who will try to take advantage of his third starting position to get closer in the championship to his teammate and leader of the small category, Izan Guevara (GasGas), who started ninth.

The one from Burriana, 33 points behind the Balearic Islands in the general classification, went through Q1 and was about to cause a surprise in the final ‘qualy’, but suffered a crash at turn 7 with two and a half minutes to go when he was going down his best record.

Meanwhile, Guevara will close the third row in search of climbing positions. In addition, Jaume Masià (KTM) will start tenth, Carlos Tatay (CFMoto) will do so eleventh, Adrián Fernández (KTM) fourteenth, David Muñoz (KTM) sixteenth, Iván Ortolá (KTM) twentieth, Dani Holgado (KTM) twenty-first, Xavi Artigas (CFMoto) twenty-third and Ana Carrasco (KTM), thirty.

Related articles

Gam Gam Ganesha: 25 Tamil directors approached me: Anand Deverakonda

Anand Deverakonda impressed the audience as an actor with the youthful entertainer 'Baby'. Currently he is getting ready for the release of his...

ANSES pays the Unemployment Benefit: who receives today, Friday, May 24, 2024

The National Social Security Administration (ANSES) begins the payments corresponding to the Month of May for unemployment insurance holders. Today, Friday the 24th,...