Formula 1 does not replace the Chinese Grand Prix and will have 23 races in 2023

MADRID, Jan. 17 (.) –

Formula 1 has announced this Tuesday its Grand Prix calendar for the 2023 season, which will consist of 23 races after the organization decided not to look for a substitute for the Chinese Grand Prix, while the Spanish Grand Prix will be held at the Circuit Barcelona-Catalonia on June 4.

The course will open on March 5 in Sakhir with the Bahrain Grand Prix and will end on November 26 at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix held at Yas Marina. The great novelty is the ticket to the Las Vegas Grand Prix, which will run through the streets of the American city on November 18, in the penultimate round of the championship.

On December 2, F1 confirmed that China would remain off the calendar for the 2023 World Cup due to the “COVID-19 situation” in the Asian country, which last hosted a Formula 1 Grand Prix in 2019.

Neither Portimao nor Istanbul, as had been speculated, have replaced the Chinese event, scheduled for April 16 and which leaves a gap of 28 days without races between the Australian Grand Prix (April 2), the third round of the championship, and that of Azerbaijan (April 30), fourth.

The United States will host three races -Miami, Austin and Las Vegas- and Italy, two -the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix in Imola and the Italian Grand Prix in Monza-. Of the 23 Grands Prix, ten will be held in Europe, six in America, six in Asia and one in Oceania.


Pre-season test February 23-25.

Bahrain Grand Prix March 5.

Saudi Arabian Grand Prix March 19.

Australian Grand Prix April 2.

Azerbaijan Grand Prix April 30.

Miami Grand Prix May 7.

Grand Prix of Emilia Romagna May 21.

Monaco Grand Prix May 28.

Spanish Grand Prix June 4.

Canadian Grand Prix June 18.

Austrian Grand Prix July 2.

UK Grand Prix July 9.

Hungarian Grand Prix July 23.

Belgian Grand Prix July 30.

Dutch Grand Prix August 27.

Italian Grand Prix September 3.

Singapore Grand Prix September 17.

Japanese Grand Prix September 24.

Qatar Grand Prix October 8.

United States Grand Prix October 22.

Mexican Grand Prix October 29.

Brazilian Grand Prix November 5.

Las Vegas Grand Prix November 18.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix November 26.

Related articles